Menu Close

Superb news: four Tiny Owl authors and illustrators have been nominated for the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award!

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award is the largest and most prestigious award for children’s and young adult literature in the world. It ‘rewards artistic activity of the very highest quality’, and gives recognition to literature from anywhere in the world that continues the author Astrid Lindgren’s lifelong campaign to promote peace, democracy and cooperation. It is awarded to authors, illustrators, storytellers, and people and organisations that promote reading in children and young people. It commemorates the recipient’s entire body of work. 235 candidates from 60 countries are nominated!

Our four nominees are:

Farshid Mesghali, the creator of the stunning block print illustrations of The Little Black Fish.

Farhad Hassanzadeh, the author of our cat fable Will and Nill. He has also been nominated to represent Iran in the 2018 Hans Christian Andersen Award.

Award-winning South African author Beverley Naidoo, the author of the upcoming Tiny Owl title Cinderella of the Nile, the first in our One Story Many Voices series, which can be found in our Spring 2018 catalogue.

Elizabeth Laird, the author of another upcoming Tiny Owl title based on a fable by Rumi, to be published in 2019.

We send our congratulations and best wishes to the nominees! The award winners will be announced in Stockholm in summer 2018.

Buy The Little Black Fish

Buy Will And Nill

Visit our bookstore

Limited edition prints

Subscribe to Tiny Owl on YouTube

Posted in Authors, News & Reviews